7 New Wonders of the World

Campaign was started in 2000 to choose New 7 Wonders of the World from the existing 200 monuments. Winners were announced on 7th July 2007 in Lisbon. Popularity poll was conducted by Canadian Swiss Bernard Weber and organized by the New 7 Wonders Foundation. As per New 7 Wonders Foundations over 100 million votes were caste through interned and telephone. The Great Pyramid of Giza was granted honorary status which was the only surviving and oldest of the Original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

Winners of the poll were:

  1. Great Wall of China – China
  2. Petra – Jordan
  3. The Colosseum – Rome Italy
  4. Chichen Itza – Yucatan, Mexico
  5. Machu Picchu – Cuzco Peru
  6. Taj Mahal – Agra, India
  7. Christ the Redeemer – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil


The Great Wall of China was built by Emperor Qin, first emperor of China in around 200 B.C. These walls are made from stone, bricks, tamped earth, wood and other materials. Earlier these were several walls which were built to protect border of China from raids and invasions of the various nomads groups. Later these walls were combined together and know as Great Wall of China. Its length is approximately 21196 kilometers. It is included in New 7 Wonders of the World.


Located amid rugged desert Canyons and mountains is now the southwestern corner of Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, Petra was one of a thriving trading center and the capital of the Nabataean empire between 400 BC to AD 106. This is the historical and archaeological city in southern Jordan. The city is famous for its rock cut architecture and water conduct system. In 1985, Archaeological Park of Petra was declared a UNESCO World Heritage site and described as one of the most precious cultural properties of man’s cultural heritage, and in 2007 it was named as one of the New 7 Wonders of the World.


The Colosseum also known as Flavian Amphitheater. This massive stone amphitheater was commissioned around A.D. 70. It is one of Rome’s most popular tourist attractions point. After four centuries of active use, the magnificent arena fell into neglect, until 18 century two third of Colosseum was destroyed and material of Colosseum was used for making other buildings.


The scared site was one of the greatest Mayan centers of the Yucatan peninsula. The genius and adaptability of Mayan culture can be seen in the splendid ruins of Chichen Itza. This archaeological site is located in Tinum Municipality, Yucatan, Mexico. El Castillo also known as the Temple of Kukulcan, is a Mesoamerican step – pyramid that dominates the center of the Chichen Itza archeological in the Mexican State. The pyramid consists of several series of square terrace with stairways up each of the four sides to the temple on top. Each of the pyramids four sides has 91 steps which when added together and including the temple platform on top is the final step, produces total 365 steps which is equal to number of days of the Haab year.


Machu Picchu is located in the Cusco Region of Peru, above the scared valley which is 80 kilometers northwest of Cuzco and though which the Urubamba River flows. Machu Picchu is situated on a mountain ridge at 2430 meters above sea level. In the Quechua native language “Machu Picchu” means “Old Peak” or “Old Mountain”. These structures were built with a technique called “ashlar” in which stones are cut to fit together without mortar, not even a needle can fit in between two stones. No wheels were used to transport heavy rocks for the construction of the city. Machu Picchu is considered the main tourist attraction in Peru and was included in New 7 Wonders of World in year 2007.


Taj Mahal is and ivory white marble mausoleum on the south bank of Yamuna River in India city of Agra. In 2007 it was declared one of the winners of New 7 Wonders of the World. Taj Mahal is also known as ‘The epitome of Love’ which was built by Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan, in between 1628 to 1658. The name Taj Mahal was delivered from the name of Shah Jahan’s wife Mumtaz Mahal and means “Crown Palace”. The Taj Mahal was designated as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1983.


Christ the Redeemer statue’s weight 635 metric tons and is located at the peak of the 700 meter Corcovado Mountain in the Tijuca Forest National Park overlooking the city of Rio. It is listed as one of the New 7 Wonders of the World. It was completed in 1931 and stands 98 feet tall. The statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro was created by French Sculptor Paul Landowski and built by the Brazilian engineer Heitor da Silva Costa in collaboration with the French engineer Albert Caquot.

Apart from New 7 Wonders of the World, the Classic Seven Wonders were:

  1. Colossus of Rhodes
  2. Great Pyramid of Giza
  3. Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  4. Lighthouse of Alexandria
  5. Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  6. Statue of Zeus at Olympia
  7. Temple of Artemis at Ephesus.

Seven Natural Wonders of the World:

  1. Aurora
  2. Grand Canyon
  3. Great Barrier Reef
  4. Harbor of Rio de Janeiro
  5. Mount Everest
  6. Paricutin volcano
  7. Victoria Falls.

New 7 Wonders of Nature

  1. Iguazu Falls
  2. Halong Bay
  3. Jeju Island
  4. Puerto Princesa Underground River
  5. Table Mountain
  6. Komodo Island
  7. Amazon Rainforest

New 7 Wonders Cities:

  1. Durban, South Africa
  2. Vigan, The Philippines
  3. Havana, Cuba
  4. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  5. Beirut, Lebanon
  6. Doha, Qatar
  7. La Paz, Bolivia

Seven Wonders of the Underwater World:

  1. Palau
  2. Belize Barrier Reef
  3. Great Barrier Reef
  4. Deep-Sea Vents
  5. Galapagos Islands
  6. Lake Baikal
  7. Northern Red Sea

Seven Wonders of the Industrial World:

  1. SS Great Eastern
  2. Bell Rock Lighthouse
  3. Brooklyn Bridge
  4. Landon Sewerage system
  5. First Transcontinental Railroad
  6. Panama Canal
  7. Hoover Dam.