January 2018

India’s first medal in international skiing.

On 10th January 2018 Aanchal Thakur created history to become first Indian to win medal in international skiing. Start of 2018 with a international medal is a proud moment of all Indians and this is one of the India’s major news of 2018. 21 year old Aanchal Thakur is from a small and picturesque hill station of Manali. She becomes the first Indian to win an international medal in skiing. Aanchal Thakur won Bronze medal at the Alpine Ejder 3200 cup in Turkey which was organized by the International Ski Federation. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was among the first to congratulate her. In his tweet Mr. Modi said “well done Aanchal Thakur for winning and international medal in skiing! The entire Nation is ecstatic over your historic accomplishment. Wishing you very best for your future endeavors”.

Aanchal Thakur after winning medal

ISRO hits a Century

On 12th January 2018, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) achieved another milestone of launching its 100th satellite into space. This was first launch of 2018 and also become the India’s major news of 2018. By launching this satellite ISRO made century of launching satellite into space. This launch took place at Sriharikota and includes 30 other spacecrafts including weather observation Cartosat – 2 series satellite. Last year in 2017 ISRO created history by launching 104 satellites in one go – the most by any space agency ever. On this occasion both President and Prime Minister of India congratulated ISRO and its scientist.

In his twee Mr. Modi said “My heartiest congratulation to ISRO and its scientists on the successful launch of PSL today. This success in the New Year will bring benefits of the country’s rapid strides in space technology to our citizens, farmers, fishermen etc”.

While President Mr. Kovind said “Launch of India’s 100th satellite Cartosat -2, along with two co –passengers satellites as well as 28 satellites of six friendly countries, is a moment of pride for every Indian. Congratulations to ISRO team of exceptional scientists. A milestone for our country”.